Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: cartridges for officers musket  (Read 748 times)

Offline sawbones

• TMA Forum Member
cartridges for officers musket
« on: January 17, 2009, 11:34:18 PM »
I want to make and use paper cartridges for my musket.  I plan on taking it hunting.  What do you guys with a lot of smooth bore experience recomend?  Also, is it more accurate to use a patch and round ball, or wadding?  Or does it matter?  I like the idea of having everything right there it the cartridge.  It makes more sense to me, but I'm just learning as I go.
never flinch
Sawbones #300  expires 1/4/10

Offline Sir Michael

• TMA Forum Member
  • TMA: TMA Store
  • TMA Member: Charter Member #132
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2009, 02:08:13 AM »
My preference is make cartridges (paper tubes) to hold the powder charge and carry loose balls and patches.  

As for the most accurate way to load, wad or patch, you will have to experiment at the range for that one and come to your own conclusion much like establishing the best powder load.

Remember when working up the load either with a wad or patches, only change one thing at a time an remove as much of you from the equation as possible. :rt th
Sir Michael
Charter Member #132

Offline markinmi

• TMA Forum Member
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2009, 12:29:37 AM »
I use cartrige paper from Smiling Fox in my bess.I can't seem to find paper thats the same wieght as this stuff.I pour the charge then turn it around and insert it in the muzzle using the paper as a patch still wrapped around the ball and tear off the excess.Works good for me.

Offline mario

• TMA Forum Member
Re: cartridges for officers musket