Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: advice sought on ignition issues  (Read 1082 times)

Offline RobD

• TMA Admin
  • TMA President & Contributing Member
advice sought on ignition issues
« on: September 17, 2015, 08:19:08 AM »

a month or so ago when i first loaded and fired the new 24g musket i had maybe a few issues with getting it to go off, using 3f down the tube and either 3f or 4f in the pan.  i'm not a newbie to ml's and always clean the tube (and dry it), touch hole, pan, frizzen and rock before loading and firing.  then i dry balled it and had to pull the breech to clear the patched ball as outlined in this past thread ....

the dreaded stuck ball

yesterday we had an ml get-together and it was hell to get her to fire.

when shooting with a clear, clean and dry bore, i drop 65 grains of goex 3f down, settle it in, a .010 linen patched .562 ball gets pushed down to sit on the powder column.  then poke a pick into the touch hole to feel the powder, re-clean the pan, frizzen and rock, put fill the pan about 1/2 way to the outside with 4f (3f would not work at all), drop the frizzen, cock the hammer, pull the trigger and .... most of yesterday morning was just a flash in the pan.  what i had to do to get it to go off was force some 4f into the vent, and then it would go off, most of the time but not always.  the last load i made would not go off no matter what and required pulling the breech plug.

brought it home and pulled the breech - all looked good.  perhaps its touch hole diameter or that 'v' notch in the breech plug just isn't large enuf or not long enuf?  maybe opening the 'v' a bit wider or longer would help?