Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: Casting Round Balls  (Read 707 times)

Offline burch

• TMA Forum Member
Casting Round Balls
« on: October 14, 2009, 05:44:56 PM »
I hope i`m in the right topic for this question so here goes. I have some casting experience with my pistol bullets and have been buying a few molds for round balls. I have Lee molds and plenty of pure lead. So my questions are :  What temp should I be using for my melt and any tips on using the Lee molds would be very appreciated. Up until now i`ve just been buying my balls but since I cast bullets and have the equipment anyhow why not. I cast the old hillbilly way with grill,pot and ladle. Never really had the money for all the fancy stuff.

Burch   8)
Member #471 Expires 5/16/09
If I Gotta Explain It You wouldn`t Understand It

Offline jbullard1

• TMA Forum Member
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2009, 05:52:44 PM »
I cast the same way, on a propane fish cooker and a cast iron pot, Sometimes my roundballs are frosted sometimes they are not, after they cool I throw all of them in a vibratory case polisher and let them run for about an hour or so. The targets don't seem to mind
Mississippi TMA State Representative
Member #318  Valid until Jan 15, 2011
Hatchie Run Longrifles Member

Offline burch

• TMA Forum Member
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2009, 06:09:37 PM »
Quote from: "jbullard1"
I cast the same way, on a propane fish cooker and a cast iron pot, Sometimes my roundballs are frosted sometimes they are not, after they cool I throw all of them in a vibratory case polisher and let them run for about an hour or so. The targets don't seem to mind