Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: Hey whats whats!!! Whats this??  (Read 1110 times)

Offline IronDawg

• TMA Forum Member
Hey whats whats!!! Whats this??
« on: December 02, 2009, 11:33:07 PM »
I offered up some centerfire barrels I don't use anymore for trades on my home site.... yea looking to swap in to another traditional muzzleloader (I enjoy the horse tradin side of things). But I'm still a rookie and dunno alot......  This is a description a fella just sent me

58 cal 2 bander London Armoury co,glass bedded trigger job, renactment compeditor,white canvas sling,shoots the big bullet

This sounds like some sort of maybe english musket or replica of an infantry gun???? Am I on the right track??

This fella is one county up so me and him can actually hook up and I can inspect locks, bores etc etc so thats not of concern. Whats of concern is he could have just said "I gotta wally filberton wiggledy jibbit" and I would still be no closer to knowing.

2 bander?? Thats like the bands or wedding bands on a roundbarrel smooth bore yea?? Or is that like the rings that wrap around the barrel and forearm?? Or is that the same thing?? All I know is it aint no mt. rifle so I'm lost.
It's not what you've done. It's how you did it.
TMA member #516 ex. 11/16/10

Online rollingb

• TMA BoD
  • TMA Founder
  • TMA: Founder
  • TMA Member: TMA Charter Member#6
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, 12:00:38 AM »
The description sounds like a 2-band 1858 .577 Enfield,... to me.

If so,... the "2-bands" would be around the barrel AND forearm.
"An honest man is worth his weight in gold"
For only $1.25 per-month, you too can help preserve our traditional muzzleloading heritage.
TMA Founder