Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: Favorite loads for 50 caliber caplock with 1:62 twist rifle  (Read 545 times)

Offline TallTexan

• TMA Forum Member
  • You can't kill a man who is born to hang.
Favorite loads for 50 caliber caplock with 1:62 twist rifle
« on: December 03, 2014, 10:19:10 PM »
Does anyone here shoot a 50 caliber 1:62 twist rate?  If so, please share your favorite load combo with me. Just to let everyone know, I've been shooting muzzle loaders for some 10 years now and know how to work up a load, I am simply curious as to what someone else uses as I have never had a 50 caliber with this particular twist rate, plus I've not had the time to make it to the range with this rifle yet.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2014, 10:05:40 PM by TallTexan »
Member 629

Online RobD

• TMA Admin
  • TMA President & Contributing Member
Re: Favorite loads for 50 caliber 1:56 twist rifle
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2014, 07:19:10 PM »
i think it will still (actually, always) come down to testing the parameters of powder type and granulation and charge measure, and patch type and thickness and lube.  

i had a lyman trade .50 flinter with that fast 1:48 twist and the most consistently accurate load for that rifle and me was 72gr goex 2f, a 490" ball, and a .014" cotton flannel patch with dutch lube.

Offline ridjrunr

• TMA Forum Member
Re: Favorite loads for 50 caliber 1:56 twist rifle
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2014, 09:21:26 PM »
TallTexan, never had a rifle with that twist but will be curious to see what you come up with. What brand is it or barrel maker?