Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: couple of questions from a beginner  (Read 672 times)

Offline bdog

• TMA Forum Member
    • http://www.autumnbreezebrittanys.com
couple of questions from a beginner
« on: November 29, 2010, 08:03:37 PM »
Hi guys,I'm new to muzzle loaders and here's my questions,I just picked up a TC Hawken percussion .50 cal,I'd like to keep it simple for now,what would be a decent prelubed conical to use and what and how much powder should I use,when people say Pyrodex,does that mean I can use those pellets or should it be loose powder, I'm going after deer with it,great forum ya got here !!!!!

Thanks
Mark (bdog)
Member #607
Expires 02/01/2012

Offline Loyalist Dave

• TMA Forum Member
  • TMA Member: 800
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2010, 08:25:17 PM »
Well you didn't mention it so I will guess your rifle is in .50.  Your profile does show you're in Canada, so are you talking about going for moose, or just targets?  

T/C makes their own projectiles, as does Buffalo Bullets,..., and there are others as well that come prelubed.  You may need to try several to get a handle on which projectile will work the best.  It's an odd thing about ML rifles, but even those that come off the assembly line back to back may not like identical loads.

If you're not going for Moose or are only doing targets, you might want to try patched round ball.  Conical will give you a heavier kick, with the same powder charge, than will a round ball, and the T/C Hawken has a brass butt plate.