Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: .54 CVA Bobcat loads  (Read 1061 times)

Offline Dogbyte

• TMA Forum Member
.54 CVA Bobcat loads
« on: October 15, 2013, 12:31:50 PM »
joined the site because of the rebuild threads,  but for now, i thought i'd ask a general question. ended up with a bobcat yesterday for 60 bucks, came with everything but bullets and caps. was able to find some .530 round balls and .10 pretreated patches at a pawn shot that carries .54 cal supplies, the RB's were hornady's, and probably had been sitting on the shelf since i was born.

ive only shot it twice, just to make sure it worked, (oh plus the load that was in it when i bought it). Im new to muzzle loaders pretty much.

i started at 70gr and i hit a paper plate at ~50yds just above center. My second attempt missed high. This was with RS power, and hornady round balls, that were probably older than i am (im 36). I know what will have to be done to find what works best, but i still think it would be good to know what might be a common denominator to folks that already shoot these bobcats. I'd like to stay with RB's, and ive seen some good target results with them out of these .54's on a 1:48 twist. Anyone care to share the loads they have chased down on these bobcats? I know i will have to find my own, but still, doesnt hurt to ask.

Offline Riley/MN

• TMA Contributing Member
  • TMA Member: Charter Member #20
Re: .54 CVA Bobcat loads
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2013, 12:39:16 PM »
I don't have a bobcat, but 70 grain sounds like a good ballpark to be in. Don't know what RS is (other than my initials), can you speak to us in fg? HA
~Riley
><>

TMA Charter Member #20

Support Traditional Muzzleloading - Join the TMA!