Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: casting  (Read 912 times)

Offline mg65jerry

• TMA Forum Member
  • TMA Member: 697
casting
« on: April 15, 2017, 11:12:30 PM »
I recently after a long time of not doing it started casting  RB's for my flintlock

many of the new balls looked layered as you look at  them ( round but not smooth)
not sure of what I am doing wrong

any idea's?

Jerry

Offline amm1851

• TMA Forum Member
Re: casting
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2017, 11:57:24 PM »
I am no expert, but I have been doing a fair amount of casting myself the past few months. I would guess that either your lead or your mold are not hot enough, or perhaps both. What sort of mold are you using? I have the Lee aluminum molds and they get hot fairly fast but often I have to dump the first few balls back in the furnace.
Life member, National Rifle Association
Molon labe

Offline mg65jerry

• TMA Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2017, 12:06:01 AM »
Lee molds
my first thought was that also will ty again tomorrow
Thank you

Offline amm1851

• TMA Forum Member
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2017, 01:30:19 AM »
You're welcome. Hopefully some of the more experienced hands at casting, like Uncle Russ or Rob D, will weigh in as well.
Life member, National Rifle Association
Molon labe

Offline greyhunter

• TMA Forum Member
  • TMA Member: Membership #291, Expires 2/11/2019
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2017, 07:28:27 AM »