Craftsmanship > Traditional Archery and Accoutrements

I NEED a new bow!

(1/3) > >>

Winter Hawk:
I started shooting in the back yard again a while ago.  After 50 shots my right (pulling arm) shoulder started making ticking sounds which I ignored.  After another 20 shots it was getting painful.  Since then it takes fewer and fewer shots before I start hurting at which point I stop.  I'm thinking of getting another bow of around 40 lb. as that is the lowest Ohio will allow for deer and seeing if that will do me any better than the 50 lb. draw I use now.  I'm thinking of getting one from Miller's Longbows in Divide, Montana (they aren't on the Web, so don't bother looking).  His prices aren't bad.  Does anyone have any experience with these bows?  They are selfbows of hickory with rawhide backing; I'm attracted to his Modoc style.

Thanks,
~Kees~

rollingb:
I've bought 4 bows from Steve Donker (in Cheyenne, WY) over the last 3 or 4 years. Steve doesn't have a website either, but his business is called The Twisted Limb and he can be found on Facebook.
If you're interested, I can get some contact info for you,.... my wife has hid his phone number for the time being (I guess she thinks I've bought enough bows for awhile LOL).  :bl th up 

Ohio Joe:
Some of Steve Donker's bows - click on link below... The man can read the wood he works with... :bl th up

https://scontent.foma1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/109387451_3706788592670293_4237559730701240988_n.jpg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=cdbe9c&_nc_ohc=rWsDW87oO_AAX-vq9Em&_nc_oc=AQm2oDvQ7pTES8sreidheohYhIGvmPF78yR4KamzvKuZC96_UOUC2NXlo2jy8s0QfLI&_nc_ht=scontent.foma1-1.fna&oh=0daa55f5eedbf22bf77fb01032d135f9&oe=609C3AC6

RobD:
David Miller's longbows are Excellent, I had one years ago and it was worth the wait.