Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: The Stigma of "Made in India"  (Read 1876 times)

Offline Stormrider51

• TMA Contributing Member
  • TMA: Contributing Member.
  • TMA Member: Membership #632 Expiration date, 02/05/2020
The Stigma of "Made in India"
« on: May 20, 2014, 01:21:16 PM »
I was just reading over some old posts of mine and came across one where I revealed my ignorance.  Not that I've never done that before or since but this case seems especially bad.  It had to do with an inquiry about a fusil made in India.  I was anything but complimentary of them based on one experience and a lot of internet hearsay.  I now know that this was unfair and some of what I said was untrue.  Now, some years later, I came back around to being curious about those guns and this time I did a little more background research before plunking down my money.  The research paid off.

All of this came to mind because I see some very welcome new names on the forum.  I'm sure some of them are experienced in muzzleloading but some are beginners.  Some may be looking for the cheapest way to try the hobby.  Some may be considering buying a gun that is made in India.  This time, instead of further clouding already muddy water I'd like to share some experiences and facts.