Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: Musket ball size?  (Read 2390 times)

Offline Steven Goselin

• TMA Forum Member
  • TMA Member: 728
Musket ball size?
« on: July 30, 2017, 10:48:36 AM »
I am new to muskets and smoothbores in general. The bore of my new .69 musket mic's at .682. Around what size ball should I be trying. The manufacturer is recommending .620 - .644. Any thoughts? I know that just like with a rifle I will end up trying different size balls, patches etc. I am not a reenactor and will likely not bother making paper cartridges, but just patch and ball. The videos I have watched seem to show very undersized balls that can be loaded very quickly in the traditional manner. However, it would seem to me that a tighter ball would promote better accuracy? Am I off base on this. Thoughts and help appreciated. Thank you.
"The .44 spoke and it said lead and smoke and 17" of flame" from Mr. Shorty by Marty Robbins

Online RobD

• TMA Admin
  • TMA President & Contributing Member
Re: Musket ball size?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2017, 05:53:35 PM »