Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: Question about Model 1816 Harpers Ferry w/shortened barrel  (Read 1110 times)

Offline jkelly66

• TMA Forum Member
Question about Model 1816 Harpers Ferry w/shortened barrel
« on: August 04, 2015, 02:04:38 PM »
Hey guys, newbie here. I’ve recently acquired my first antique firearm and have a question. This gun is a model 1816 Harpers Ferry smooth bore musket in flintlock configuration and pretty nice overall condition. For unknown reasons, somebody in the past cut 6” to 7" inches off the barrel, of course removing the bayonet lug as well. And the stock was shortened several inches too. The barrel measures around 35.5" and should be about 42".

I called around and talked to a couple gunsmiths who have some knowledge of these guns. One particular gentleman who operates out of Harpers Ferry said the barrel “could” be welded and extended, re-browned, etc and the repair made difficult to detect. But then he asked me “why” when the existing barrel could be a war-time modification and was what he considered part of the gun’s history and authenticity. He said he’s seen numerous alterations, many done by Confederates, as they did whatever necessary to keep existing guns usable, or adapt them to a specific purpose. I do not know the gun’s history, but I suppose that’s one scenario. If Confederates did modify this gun, I’d think the “conversion to percussion” change would have been far more likely.