Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: A little help, please!  (Read 887 times)

Offline 1Poet

• TMA Forum Member
A little help, please!
« on: May 24, 2014, 11:34:50 PM »
Been shooting percussion ml's on and off for forty years, but I'm new to flinters and smoothbores.  That's why I like TMA, lots of experienced folks that don 't mind sharing.  Well, as you may have read, I recently jumped in head first to the "dark side" and bought a .54 cal smoothbore rifle from Tip Curtis :bow .  The .54 has a 42"swamped barrel.  When I put a round through her, the second round and others, even after swabbing the bore, seem to be tighter at about 14" down the barrel, then get easy again.  Is the normal?  I'm using a .530 Hornaday swaged round ball and a .10 prelubed patch.  Your council would be appreciated.
   Also, sometimes she goes off with no noticeable lag in firing, other times she has a hesitation befor firing, the ol' swish/bang thing.  I use the powder prick before priming, but may be using too much or not enough priming powder.  I'm using about 70 gr. Goex 3F in the charge and prime, best English black flint.  Accuracy seems good, just hate the flash/bang from a weapon probably more capable than me.  I want to learn and will listen and practice.  Thanks to all who can provide this ol' newbie some help! :bow

Offline prairie dog

• TMA Contributing Member
  • TMA Member: Contributing Member #678
Re: A little help, please!
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2014, 10:33:44 AM »
Swish/bang = too much powder in the pan.  Don't let it cover the touch hole.
Steve Sells

Offline 45.70

• TMA Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2014, 11:22:51 AM »
1Poet,