Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: Okay, pistol's being made - now I need load advice  (Read 738 times)

Online Darren Haverstick

• TMA Contributing Member
  • TMA: Board of Directors, TMA Treasurer
  • TMA Member: Contributing Member.
Okay, pistol's being made - now I need load advice
« on: October 07, 2014, 08:33:51 AM »
Thanks in advance for your patience, you all. I've got no experience with BP pistols so I don't know much about them.

A friend of mine is in the process of assembling my pile of gun parts into a working flintlock Kentucky pistol. After some lengthy conversations with Ryan, at Muzzleloading Builder's Supply, I got a .62 caliber 12" smoothbore barrel and a large Siler lock. My intent is to kill a deer using PRB (yes, it's legal in Missouri) and small game using shot.

My question is, how much powder would be a good starting point for each type of load? I will be using 3F in the barrel and 4F in the pan. I'll be using #6 chilled lead shot and .6" balls. I am assuming that my maximum effective range for PRB will be around 25-30 yards due to my ability; not the gun's.

Any guidance would be appreciated!

Darren

Offline Riley/MN

• TMA Member: Charter Member #20
Re: Okay, pistol's being made - now I need load advice
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2014, 08:47:28 AM »