Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: chunk gun  (Read 1807 times)

Offline ken

• TMA Forum Member
chunk gun
« on: May 09, 2008, 07:36:45 PM »
I am thinking of building a chunk gun. I have made several longrifles but I have no chunk gun experience. Having trouble deciding on what barrel to use. I am considering green mountain 40 cal /1 inch or 50 cal/11/8. Any suggestions would be helpful. Also I am  a flint person but I am thing of making this a percussion. Any thoughts????

Offline Ohio Joe

• TMA BoD
  • TMA Founder / Charter Member# 8
  • TMA Member: Founder
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2008, 08:31:04 PM »
Did I hear 'Chunk Gun'???

Hello Ken!

I made a chunk gun using the .40 x 1" x 42" GMB w/1in48 twist, and all I can say is if you want good grouping with this barrel that will allow you a shot at competing with other chunk guns, use one of the two starting points; .400 ball with at least a .022 denim patch along 55 to 65 grains of 3fg Goex.  The powder load will vary,,, or a .395 ball with .024 denim (minimum) and again anywhere from 55 to 65 grains of 3fg Goex (or your chosen best black powder)...

Now with all the above said, if I had to do it over I would go with
a .45 GMB 1" x 42" w/ 1in60 twist.  You give up a little weight but not that much and the 1 in 60 twist is not near as finicky as the 1 in 48...  The .45 GMB will throw a good ball while not being so finicky.

The .50 is a good choice but not needed in chunk shooting.  For one thing you'll have to go with a heavier load to gain a fast ball and a fast ball is a must in chunk.  Getting a fast ball from a .50 will also create a bit more recoil which over 50 and 60 yard chunk matches will play havoc.