Craftsmanship > Gun Building and Repair

finish

(1/3) > >>

Buck Hunter 1:
I recently got a Lyman Deerstalker. It has a dull oil based finish to it. I took the gun apart, scrubbed it down w/ soap and water, dries it up and let it sit a day or 2.  I did not wash out bare wood.  I have 2 coats of hand rubbed Formbys tung oil FINISH on the gun.  I rub it in after daubing a section w/ my fingers. I then daub and bring the liquid back into the exisiting , etc etc.  I will take a Qtip and swab the insides of the stock next just to seal it.  Is this the correct method or am I way off the track. I have never tried this before and the most wood I ever finished was a deck!  I also use 0000 steel wool to get the shiny surface after it has dries a day or so or until nothing is sticky 18-24 hours. Is it worth me spending more time adding coats of this FINISH? Thanks

Buffler Razz:
I've used the same product on my selfbows and a few muzzleloaders. I have around 8 coats on all of my stuff. I laid on the first coat pretty heavy with a clean lint free piece of cloth, probably was on old cotton t shirt. Waited about 10 minutes and then wiped it off. After that it was 24 hrs between coats. Dabbed it on with my fingers and rubbed it in real good; waited ~10 min and wiped it down real hard with a clean lint free cloth. Repeat next day. The finish comes out very nice, can be retouched. I did this to a Pedersoli that I owned, but first I scraped off the original finish and got it back to bare wood. Others may have more ideas, this is what worked to my liking.
Good luck & show us some pics when you are done.
Razz

Captchee:
Well when it comes to the  how to finish and seal a stock , there are as many different ways as there are stars in the sky .
 each area of the world seems to have their own idea of  how to do this .
 If you were reproducing a specific style of rifle then it would be best to understand how that rifle would  have been originally done .