Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: Help Please  (Read 1546 times)

Offline HarryAreola

• TMA Forum Member
Help Please
« on: October 24, 2016, 06:16:21 PM »
I was given a BPI "Hunter" .50 cal Black Powder with an octagon barrel. It did not have a manual so I don't know what powder, how much powder, what kind of bullets, or how to clean it. I am new to the muzzleloader/black powder scene so any help would be great. Still trying to get some help from BPI but nothing yet. It is not a breech loader. Thanks for your time. The last 2 of the serial numbers are 02 if that helps.

Online rollingb

• TMA BoD
  • TMA Founder
  • TMA: Founder
  • TMA Member: TMA Charter Member#6
Re: Help Please
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2016, 08:13:34 PM »
Welcome to our TMA forum Harry.  :)
"An honest man is worth his weight in gold"
For only $1.25 per-month, you too can help preserve our traditional muzzleloading heritage.
TMA Founder
TMA Charter Member #6

Online Bigsmoke

• TMA Contributing Member
  • TMA: Charter Member #150
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2016, 09:02:43 PM »
Hello Harry,
Welcome to the TMA Forum.
One thing that rollingb did not mention was you should pay particular attention to your ramrod.  It should have 2 brass ends on it, one is flared and the other is tapered.  Look closely at them and see if they are pinned onto the ends of the rod.  If they are, you're good to go.  If not, you should drill holes completely through them (dimple each place you are going to drill) and insert either a piece of brass round stock or a metal roll pin.  3/32" works fine.  It should be 3/8" long.