Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: Inlays for the inexperienced!  (Read 1325 times)

Offline johnthemc

• TMA Forum Member
Inlays for the inexperienced!
« on: January 20, 2015, 07:30:26 AM »
Hi everyone, I need help. I am new to the whole building thing and wanted to start out slow. I know some may laugh but please remember its a start for me. I didn't want to get an expensive kit because I don't know if I am capable of building fine works of art like alot of the members but I would like to give it a try. I have a Traditions Tennessee flintlock kit. I would like if someone can give me pointers on installing inlays. I bought 2 books on building but just don't understand the technique nor know what tools to use. I don't want to buy another stock if i can help it.
Thank you

Offline briarsdad

• TMA Forum Member
Re: Inlays for the inexperienced!
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2015, 07:25:28 PM »
I am not an "experienced" builder by any means. I have however built one gun and watched my dad build guns for most of my life. The best advice I can give you is go very slow and take very little wood out at a time. When you start cutting your outline stay inside the lines to start and use your chisels to shave when you get close to fitting and dont gouge out too much. I was taught to file a bevel on your parts your inletting and they make a good tight fit when they are set in.

I hope that helps. Again the most important thing is to go slow and keep checking your fit as you go.
Bill Eyre
Member number 745

Offline johnthemc

• TMA Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2015, 07:26:40 AM »