Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: Buckhorn Sight picture  (Read 847 times)

Offline kswan

• TMA Forum Member
  • TMA Member: 790
Buckhorn Sight picture
« on: February 21, 2016, 04:01:05 PM »
Hello Folks.

Im quite new to black powder shooting but very experienced with modern shooting.
I have just built a Tennessee rifle 42 inch barrel in 50 cal. I started with 50 grains and am up to 75 grains but my MPI is about 8 inches low with any load.  Ive not used buck-horn so before I start to change the front sight, what should my sight picture generally look like with buck-horn sights at 50 yards. Right now I have the foresight just visable at the bottom at 50 yards. Should I have the foresight in the center of the horns?
thanks for taking the time to read.

Offline Rocklock

• TMA Forum Member
Re: Buckhorn Sight picture
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2016, 05:34:43 PM »
When I had buckhorns on a rifle (no longer) I used the top of the blade at the top of the notch. Then found where top of the blade in the center of the "peep" would hit and finally the POI with the blade level between the points of the horns.  

You can use any of these that appear more clear to you.  Sight I use now is more of a semi buckhorn. Track of the Wolf has a lot of options to look at. Experimenting is part of the fun. Enjoy.
TC
Ain't nothin' hard if ya have the right equipment AND know how to use it.  :lt th

Offline kswan

• TMA Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2016, 07:59:56 AM »
Quote from: "Rocklock"