Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: Casting Round Balls and Conicals  (Read 1549 times)

Offline smokepolepaul

• TMA Forum Member
  • TMA Member: 777
Casting Round Balls and Conicals
« on: May 23, 2020, 10:36:18 AM »
I'm just getting started in casting round balls and conicals.  I'll be using 99.9% pure lead from Roto Metals.

I would like input regarding a good starting point for lead temperature when pouring.  I'm using Lee aluminum molds.

I searched the forum but didn't see the info I was looking.  Any guidance/suggestions would be much appreciated.

Paul
"There ain't nothing like boom and smoke!"  :-)

Offline Fyrstyk

• TMA Forum Member
  • "When your dumb, you gotta be tough"
  • TMA Member: Member #799
Re: Casting Round Balls and Conicals
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2020, 11:14:46 AM »
I try to keep my pot at 700-750 degrees on my thermometer. Start with a full pot, cause as you add more lead the temp will go down.  If the balls/bullets come out frosty the temp is too high, if they are wrinkled, then the lead is too cool.  Put the rejects back into the pot.

Offline smokepolepaul

• TMA Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2020, 11:21:06 AM »
Thank you sir.  I appreciate the info.

Paul

Offline One Shot

• TMA Forum Member
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2020, 04:05:47 PM »
SmokePole

Here is a link to a excellent downloadable book; From Ingot To Target. Geared to handgunners but principles remain the same for casting.

http://www.lasc.us/Fryxell_Book_textonly2.pdf
Semper Fi
The Few The Proud

Offline smokepolepaul

• TMA Forum Member
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2020, 09:20:03 PM »
Thank you for the info and your service to our country One Shot.

God bless you.

Paul

Offline dave951