Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: The End of an Era  (Read 742 times)

Online Bigsmoke

• TMA Contributing Member
  • TMA: Charter Member #150
The End of an Era
« on: August 23, 2021, 11:26:04 PM »
Kinda long, but I think it's a pretty good read.

An era in horn making is coming to an end in about two weeks.

It all started out in 1983 when I noticed a classified advertisement in Muzzleblasts.  It read something like “Horn and Leather business for sale.  Can locate anywhere.  Call 303-xxx-xxxx for details.” 
I had been dabbling in the muzzleloading business for several years at this point, displaying at gun shows and rendezvous, and starting to develop a mail order catalog business.  We also became distributors for Treso, Allen Firearms, and several other small manufacturers.  So, I called the number that Monday and found out the business for sale was October Country, of which I was familiar.  A few weeks later found me in Colorado Springs, meeting the owners and looking over the business.  I liked what I saw and noticed that we shared a number of the same businesses as customers.  We came to terms on the price and then back to Idaho to prepare a place for everything. 
On New Year's Day, they showed up in the driveway.  They brought with them two industrial sewing machines, one roll of 7 sides of leather and a box of Mexican cow horns.  Some leather working tools, an anvil, a bag turning post and bag patterns completed the package.
We set up shop and I was shown the process for making the powder horns and Linda, Ms. Smoke, learned the steps for cutting out and sewing the bags.  After two weeks, the training was done and the Fadums drove out the driveway.