Your TMA Officers and Board of Directors
Support the TMA! ~ Traditional Muzzleloaders ~ The TMA is here for YOU!
*** JOIN in on the TMA 2024 POSTAL MATCH *** it's FREE for ALL !

For TMA related products, please check out the new TMA Store !

The Flintlock Paper

*** Folk Firearms Collective Videos ***

Author Topic: New to the Game  (Read 745 times)

Offline MCoop

• TMA Forum Member
New to the Game
« on: December 10, 2023, 03:43:44 PM »
I’m pretty new to the game and had this rifle given to me.  I had to adjust the trigger to make it safe, but other than that it functions great, I can shoot 1.5” groups at 50 yds.  I was so confident with it that I shot a deer with it this year. 
My question is,  can anyone give me any background on this rifle just from looking at it ?  Is it mass produced or custom. 
It is a 50cal and on the inside of the Lock plate it says Dixie.  I’m assuming that means Dixie Gun Works. 
That is about all I know about this rifle. 
Any input you may have is appreciated.

Offline No Powder

• TMA Contributing Member
  • TMA Exp. Date; June 26, 2024
  • TMA: Contributing Member
  • TMA Member: TMA Charter Member #75
Re: New to the Game
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2023, 05:19:24 PM »
Hey MCoop, I'm sorry I can't help with the rifle identification. But I can tell you that's a fine looking rifle and buck. The late flintlock season here in PA starts on Dec. 26, and I sure would like a buck like that to come visit me and my smokepole. Would you share with us what components you are using to obtain those 1.5" groups. By the way, welcome aboard.

TMA Exp. Date; June 26, 2024

Offline MCoop

• TMA Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2023, 05:58:34 PM »
Absolutely !
I’m using the rifle shown. 50cal Flintlock with a 39” octagonal barrel.
Im shooting Hornady .490 ball with a .010 ticking lubed patch and 80 grains on Goex 1F main charge and Goex 4F in the pan.